HomeClub Photo AlbumLinksA PoemConstitutionContact Us


Moray Jazz Club is a registered charity, no.: SC028421

This site  The Web 

Moray Jazz Club meets on Thursday evening at Elgin City Football Club Social Club, Borough Briggs Road, Elgin.  Doors are open at 7.30p.m. and there is music between 8p.m. and 10.30p.m.  Performers include a number of excellent local musicians and guests from further afield who play a wide variety of jazz.  Visitors to the Jazz Club are very welcome.

Entry costs £5.00 for members or £8.00 for non-members.

Annual membership (April to March) costs £15.00.

Moray Jazz Club's email address is: mjc@morayjazzclub.co.uk.

Moray Jazz Club on Facebook


If you would like to listen to some recordings of performances at Moray Jazz Club click on the SoundCloud icon below:



26 October
Morag McCall Quintet:
Morag McCall - vocals
Colin Black - guitar
Alan King - piano
Ray Leonard - bass
Fabrizio Conti - drums
sound-icon.jpgMorag McCall on SoundCloud
02 November
Lewis Benzies Trio with special guest Lauren Fekete:
Lewis Benzies - bass guitar
Rainer Goldbeck - guitar
Fabrizio Conti - drums
Lauren Fekete - vocals
sound-icon.jpgLewis Benzies on SoundCloud
09 November
Keddie/King Quintet:
Brian Keddie - trombone
Alan King - piano
Andy Brown - guitar
Peter Lowit - bass
Nigel McKenzie - drums
16 November
The Gerry Coogan/Royce Emerson Band:
Gerry Coogan - piano and vocals
Royce Emerson - bass
Sandy Barclay - trombone
Ray Meiklejohn - reeds
Derek Matheson - guitar
Doug Nairn - drums
23 November
Jim Mullen Band with Zoe Francis:
Please note this will be a ticket only event and tickets will be available from the Chairman (Tom) or the Secretary (Helen) at £12 each, and £10 for Club members.  The number of tickets available will be strictly limited due to the Club's seating restrictions.
Jim Mullen - guitar
Zoe Francis - vocals
Paul Harrison - keys
Doug Hough - drums
Jim Mullen
Jim Mullen was guitarist with Pete Brown & Piblokto in 1970 before playing with Brian Auger's Oblivion Express.  He then joined Kokomo and later toured with the Average White Band.
In the mid-70s he met tenor sax player Dick Morrissay and throughout the 1980s he found critical notice as joint leader of Morrisay-Mullen.
Mullen has toured and recorded extensively under his own name and has also played and recorded with a wide range of artists including Mose Allison, Claire Martin, Mike Carr and Georgie Fame.  In 2014 he featured prominently on the Citrus Sun album "People of Tomorrow".
Mullen has won many British music awards including "Best Guitar" in the British Telecom Jazz Awards (1994, 1996 and 2000).
Zoe Francis
Zoe Francis is a singer to listen out for.  She communicates a love and understanding of the classic American songbook with the lightest of touches.  Zoe started singing while living in New York, learning her craft through Barry Harris workshops and live performances.   She has now established herself with her first album "Looking for A Boy", a plea to which fabled guitarist Jim Mullen provided the answer!  The two are now a famed duo and given Jim's unparalleled musicianship are leading lights in the UK Jazz scene.
30 November
Brian Keddie - trombone
Mike Mackenzie - saxes and clarinet
Roger Niven - guitar
Colin Smith - bass
Nigel McKenzie - drums
07 December
Alan King - piano
Frank Burnett - sax
Peter Lowit - bass
Bill Kemp - drums
14 December
Colin Henderson - alto and baritone saxes and flute
Roger Niven - guitar
Mario Jannetta - piano
Bill Jannetta - bass
Alan Murphy - drums

Bookmark and Share